Workshop Regarding Accountable Care Organizations, and Implications Regarding Antitrust, Physician Self-Referral, Anti-Kickback, and Civil Monetary Penalty (CMP) Laws

October 5, 2010

Agenda

9:00-9:30: Opening Comments

CMS Administrator, Donald M. Berwick, M.D., M.P.P. FTC Chairman, Jon Leibowitz HHS Inspector General, Daniel R. Levinson

9:30-10:50: FTC Panel on Clinical Integration and ACOs.

Participants will address circumstances under which collaboration among independent health care providers in an ACO permits ACO providers to engage in joint price negotiations with private payers without running the risk of engaging in illegal price fixing under the antitrust laws.

10:50 - 11:00: Break

11:00 – 12:30: FTC Panel on Encouraging Competition among ACOs.

Participants will discuss ways to encourage formation of multiple ACOs among otherwise independent providers so that competition among ACOs in any given geographic market will improve the quality and affordability of health care.

12:30 – 1:30: Lunch

1:30 - 2:50: HHS Panel

Participants will explore the different ways in which the Secretary may exercise waiver authority or create new exceptions and safe-harbors related to the physician self-referral law, the Anti-kickback statute and the CMP law in order to encourage the creation and development of ACOs.

2:50 - 3:00: Break

3:00 – 4:30: HHS Listening Session

Attendees of the workshop both in the auditorium and on the teleconference line will provide comments to HHS regarding the interaction between ACOs and the physician self-referral law, the Anti-kickback statute and the CMP laws.

Panelists:

FTC Panelists:

Gloria Austin Brown & Toland

Terry Carroll Fairview Health Services (Topic 1 Only)

Dr. Lawrence Casalino Weill Cornell Medical College

Mary Jo Condon St. Louis Area Business Health Coalition

John Friend, Esq. TMC HealthCare
Dr. Robert Galvin Equity Healthcare
Elizabeth Gilbertson HEREIU Welfare Fund
Douglas Hastings, Esq. Epstein, Becker Green

Harold Miller Center for Health Care Quality and Payment Reform
Dr. Lee Sacks Advocate Health Care

Dr. Dana Safran BC/BS Massachusetts

Trudi Trysla Fairview Health Services (Topic 2 Only)

Joseph Turgeon CIGNA

Dr. Cecil B. Wilson American Medical Association

Dr. William C. Williams Covenant Health Partners/Covenant Health Care

Dr. Janet S. Wright American College of Cardiology

HHS Panelists:

Jeffrey Micklos, Esq. Federation of American Hospitals Jonathan Diesenhaus, Esq. American Hospital Association

Tom Wilder, Esq. Association of Health Insurance Plans

Marcie Zakheim, Esq. National Association of Community Health Centers

Robert Saner, Esq. Medical Group Management Association
Ivy Baer, Esq. American Association of Medical Colleges
Chester Speed, Esq., LL.M., American Medical Group Association
Jan Towers, PhD, NP-C, CRNP, American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

FAANP, FAAN

Nora Super AARP

Web Cast and Teleconference Information:

MORNING SESSIONS may be accessed via web cast only at http://us.meeting-stream.com/CSM 100510

AFTERNOON SESSIONS may be accessed via web cast at http://us.meeting-stream.com/CSM_100510 or teleconference at (800) 837-1935; Conference ID # 10359376.

The audio for